Its your life and your adventure

Hi and Kia ora

In the last few years I have successfully coached people on making changes in their lives and getting to their goals and am continuing to do so now while sailing and living aboard a yacht (internet permitting). Equally, wherever I go I end up answering questions about how I have managed to live as I have, how it has been for the kids, along with a myriad of questions about places to go, how to travel for a year with kids, how to change countries and schools with kids, and all sorts of other related things.

This website aims to cover all the above. Readers have contacted me mostly about achieving a goal, or to help get them on the road or on a big life-change (it’s definitely not always - not even usually - about travel) and sometimes you just need a little bit of support to get past the stage you are at. My aim is to do that for you – whatever your adventure!

You can read a bit more about me below the form.

Where do you live?

Sydney - where I am now…

As my youngest is now 18 and has left home, I’m now on what to me is an adventure - sailing the oceans. I had never really stepped foot on a yacht a year ago and get very motion sick, but have been lucky enough to become crew on a friends yacht as he sails around the world. We left Sydney in July 2018 and are currently still crossing the Indian Ocean. Next is the Atlantic Ocean and we should arrive in the Caribbean around March or April 2019. The plan is to complete the circumnavigation and cross the Pacific in 2020.

Photo Credit:  Peter Hellberg

Photo Credit: Peter Hellberg

Until now…

I'm what I call a modern day nomad. I've been moving around the world for over 30 years - most of it as a single mum with three girls. (You can check out where we have been here.) For me change is a constant - changing countries, jobs, day to day life. However, there are constants in my life - my love for seeing and hearing the stories of people and places around the world, my love for hiking, ocean, river and lake swimming, seeing animals in their natural habitat, and of course, my girls!

Photo Credit:  Mitya Ku

Photo Credit: Mitya Ku

Loving the outdoors

My favourite pass-times are hiking, watching amazing animals in their wild habitat, and swimming in the ocean, a river or a lake. More than anything, I love to do these things with my girls! Its a strange life without them. You will probably find a lot of posts about animals and finding them in the wild as I keep writing - I cant help myself  - and zoos simply don't do it for me!


Photo Credit:  dimnikolov

Photo Credit: dimnikolov

Sydney the Mum

I have three great kids who have managed to thrive with the constant of change. They have moved around the world with me, going to school and making friends in 10 different countries between them, and travelling between times in over 30 others. As for all mums - I simply wouldn't be without them.  You can read more about moving around with your kids in the blog!